Getting your first gig

Activity Forums Writing Content Getting your first gig

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 13 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  kendra 4 years, 7 months ago.

• Author

gcarvell
    Participant

Hi all,
    I’m a newbie blogger. I’m interested in writing about science – my lifelong passion, but I really have no idea where to start.
    I have some samples of features and columns I’ve written for my campus magazine (I’m a post-grad student) and I have my own site where I have started writing short blog pieces.

BUT (and it is a big one), I’m broke and as much as I love to write for the fun of it, I need to start writing for money ASAP.

I have some questions for those of you who have broken in and are successfully writing for pay. I’m sure the answers to these will help a bunch of new writers like myself, so thank you in advance for all your insights!

=> How did you get your first writing job? Did you have a contact, an “in”? Did you have samples in your niche already? How did you approach the blog, or client you wanted to write for? Do you have any words of wisdom for a newbie like me?

May
    Participant

I’m a relatively new blogger as well. It’s been really difficult for me to find opportunities just to get my work out there even if I’m willing to volunteer my time. Most well-known sites haven’t been interested in my work and I’m looking for any potential advice to get started.

Thank you in advance!

90skids
    Participant

I’m new to this so I could use some pointers too

writer
    Participant

@gcarvell, I’m a newbie too:). I don’t know about blogging gigs but I think since you are an expert in science (at least compared to most of us) you would be a great caandidate to write a series of short ebooks and you could make a lot fast. Just ‘google it.’

trinawilliams
    Participant